Asking the cold to “get lost”

I’ve been sniffing my way around since the last couple of days, sure that a cold is lurking nearby.

I decided to take it by the horns and looked up on the Internet for an Ayurvedic method to tackle it.

Ginger-Cinnamon tea, I found, if sipped when it’s as-hot-as-you-can-take-it, can keep the cold at bay and gradually lead it to disappear.

Here’s how I made my Adrak-Dalchini Chai at home:

My Ginger-Cinnamon Tea

I put a glass of water on the flame to boil. I then peeled about 1/2 a thumb’s size piece of ginger root and chopped it into tiny bits. I pushed them in the water, and added a thumb-sized cinnamon stick in it. Both ingredients can be added to water at any time – don’t wait till the water starts to boil. In fact, the earlier you toss it in, the better as the flavours come out better that way.

Wait for water to boil a bit, and it’s ready. Doesn’t take more than 5-10 minutes. As with other teas, you needn’t strain this tea, as the bits will settle down in your glass by themselves. And even if you take in a bit of ginger, no harm done. None at all.

My plan’s to drink a glass of the Ginger-Cinnamon Tea thrice a day. Let’s see how it works. Keep your fingers crossed for me, yeah?

 

 

7 responses

  1. I might try this today along with some green juices!

  2. Hey! I hope you’re well soon : )

  3. Usually when cold hits me – I refuse to do anything about it. Maybe start drinking a bit more water because the throat gets parched. The cold reaches to its peak in a week – still begging to be noticed. And then it dies a quick nonchalant death in next 3-4 days.

    But this GC Tea affair also looks like a nice way 🙂

  4. Novacaine, what about the runny nose? what do you do about it?
    I can’t take a runny nose for even three days without being fed up of it already. With this tea, I still have the cold, because of which it sounds as if I’m mumbling everything to myself, but at least, it’s minus the runny nose.

    So yeah, such colds, I can handle without throwing tantrums!

    Oh, and such tea affairs also make me feel a tad bit prissy, so it’s fun : )

  5. Yeah I have the “24×7 Cold” problem and my grand-ma is always suggesting THIS! ^^
    great post, I miss my grand-ma, I am going to visit her soon thanks to you!

  6. Did it work finally?? Prissy!! Hahaha 🙂

  7. Sharvil, so I remind you of your grandma? Great. Just what I needed to hear!

    Kunal, Cold’s not gone completely, but it’s fairly at bay. Just the mumbling voice remains. Makes me sound Canadian, almost like Robin from How I Met Your Mother!
    You can probably up the prissy-quotient on this one by sipping tea from a fine, porcelain cup and saucer set! Too much!

So, what do you think about it?