The 9 to 5 Yogi

So we’ve decided to get healthy? Yes.

The Ayurveda way? Yes

Help at hand: The book ‘9 to 5 Yogi’ by Shubhra Krishan.

Great.

Current scene:

Build: Slim (Bony, even?)           Age: 24 years

Weight: 46 kg           Weakness: Muscles, strength

Dosha: Vatta-Pitta (It’s OK if you don’t get these terms yet.)

Height: Well, that’s not gonna change, so never mind.

I’m going to track my journey of becoming fit. The goals for now are to put on 7 kg, be fit enough to take karate lessons/go on overnight treks and begin running regularly.

Here’s the goal, visually:

We'll be a runner like her one day

On day 1 (Oct 1, 2011) Here’s what I did, pottering about in the kitchen, before breakfast:

Water lemon

I warmed a glass of water and poured it on 1 spoonful of lemon juice. The water needn’t be hot, warm will do. My mum says I could’ve added sugar in it too. So if you find only lemon + water bad, taste-wise, go ahead with the sugar, or honey.

Stewed apple

Next, I took a large apple. Got my mum to peel it and then chopped them into medium-sized pieces. I put about 1/4 glass of water in a saucepan and put it on the flame. If you don’t have a saucepan, it’s advisable to take a pan with a broad bottom, as the quantity of water is anyway less, and the apple pieces, more. I let the water heat for 2 minutes and then pushed the apple off the chopping board, into the saucepan. Tossed in 2 cloves. Put a light lid on it (a dish that’s larger than the mouth of the pan) and let it cook for 10 minutes. Eat them warm.

Now, for someone like me who doesn’t enjoy sweet stuff too much, stewed apples are great. The sweetness was perfectly likeable and pieces weren’t crunchy. That’s again how I’d like all my fruits to be. And 10 minutes doesn’t make them soggy either. If you’d like them to be sweeter, you could sprinkle some powdered (or otherwise) sugar on them. Or maybe substitute sugar with glucose powder.

One of these days, I’m going to try stewing pears too.

My Ayurveda book says it’s advisable to eat breakfast about 30 minutes after having stewed fruits. So I spend that time in preparing Almond Honey milk.

Almond Honey Milk

I had soaked 10 almonds overnight in clean water. I peeled all of them. That alone took quite a few minutes! By the end of my session, I realised that there’s a trick in peeling almonds, which I cannot explain here, and you’ll have to discover yourself. For now, remember that if you’re spending more than 20-25 seconds on one almond, it means you haven’t discovered the trick yet!

So anyway, I put the almonds and 1/2 a spoonful of pre-powdered cardamom in the mixer/blender. (It’s alright if you don’t have the cardamom powdered, becasue well, it’ll get powered anyway.) I open the lid to find the almond’s a bit grainy, and that’s fine for me.

Warm a glass of milk, add the powder and THEN add 3 spoonfuls of honey. I add honey later as my book specifies that heating honey makes it to lose it’s qualities. So remember to heat the milk separately, without honey.

I stirred the milk well, sipped it slowly, and thought it turned out great.

I was meaning to make some spiced water next, but I had already spent more time in the kitchen than I would like to disclose here. And then my mum sort of shoo-ed me out of “her” kitchen because the maid arrived to scrub the vessels and mum said I was being an interference in the kitchen.

So that was all for the morning :/

Tomorrow, I’ll take pictures.

7 responses

  1. Good luck getting fit 😀

  2. I should look into that book. Good luck!

  3. Oh damn, I need weight gaining too and I never knew YOGA out of all could help me gain weight, although I am still confused if that should help me gain weight.
    and you should you would take pictures tomorrow, its tomorrow already =/

  4. super… all the best . u plan to gain some weight and i to lose some…
    karate & treks i can help

  5. I love your Blog, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the blogs value.

    1. How nice of you to say that!

So, what do you think about it?

